Area's top students to be paired with leading Stark County companies
CANTON, OH (Jan. 11, 2010) – ystark!, the Canton Regional Chamber of Commerce’s young professional organization, announces that three area businesses have signed on for the Fellowship Program to begin in June of 2010. Participating companies include Koch Knight LLC, Rodriguez’s House of Stones and Time Warner Cable.
Each of the three host companies will invest two years with the fellow, offering them meaningful and challenging work assignments and the opportunity to work on innovative projects. The host companies will also be required to support the fellow in community service projects, volunteer commitments and ystark! and the Canton Regional Chamber of Commerce events. Senior management is required to stay abreast of the Fellow’s progress and provide progress evaluations. By hosting a fellow, the companies will have direct access to emerging talent, and a way to capture employees who have the most knowledge and skills of emerging technologies, practices and processes.
“The mission of the ystark! Fellowship program is to retain the county’s best and brightest college graduates through an organized career program. We want to promote the leadership qualities of the participants and root them in the region,” said Aimee Belden, director of ystark!
The program is a unique opportunity for undergraduate students who are searching for their first salaried position post-graduation. The Fellowship Program is intended to offer an immersion experience for participants – a full-time, salaried, high-exposure work opportunity that offers the benefits of professional development, community service involvement and networking opportunities. Inaugural Fellowship Program hosts who are currently hosting fellows include Aultman Health Foundation and The Repository.
ystark! is accepting applications from undergraduate students who graduated or will graduate in the Fall 2009 or Spring 2010 academic year. Applicants must be graduates of Kent State University Stark Campus, Malone University, Mount Union College, Stark State College or Walsh University, or they must be a Stark County high school graduate who will graduate from any college or university accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. The program is open to graduates in all undergraduate majors.
All applications must be received by Sunday, Jan. 31. For complete details on the ystark! Fellowship Program and a list of current opportunities, visit